Setbacks and Successes – Week 2 & 3 of the X-Effect

Decided to make the updates a biweekly thing, as eight entries on the same topic might become a little stale after a while. As implied in the header, there have been a few bumps in the road in these past couple of weeks, but I feel like I was able to get back into a good workflow in week three.

For full disclosure, I did not reach my goals these past couple of weeks. I ended up having to change my essay topic, and therefore I lost a lot of progress I’d already made on the first essay I’d started writing. Nevertheless, I think it was for the better, because I’m far more happy with the new essay that I’ve finished, and handed in today.

IMG_0125

As you see from the template above, I did miss two days in week two. It sucked messing up my stats so soon in the project, but it taught me two important lessons that I needed to learn.

  1. I have stopped putting the daily writing off until the evening. Those two nights I missed my targets, the reason why I missed them was that I didn’t prioritize my writing, and I didn’t view it as equally important to my other daily tasks. Since then I’ve started writing earlier in the day, and I’m churning out far more pages than before.
  2. It’s all about getting back on the horse. This is sort of like when you are dieting. So what if you mess up and eat 10 cupcakes in one sitting? The important thing is the cumulative effect of doing the things that are good for you, and not giving up after one setback. After a while you’ll see pretty much the same effects as if you hadn’t messed up. And perhaps you learned something from your missteps? In my case, messing up, and having to publicize it on my blog prompted me to rethink my approach to the project, and start taking it more seriously. In the end, the only one I’m cheating by not doing my daily workload is myself.

 

What worked:

  • My use of resources has improved, and my citations are better.
  • I don’t know why, but just putting in earbuds has become sort of a catalyst for getting to work. Sometimes I don’t even have to put on any music or ambient sound for it to work.
  • Giving away my phone before working, and putting it in “quarantine” until I’m done with my daily writing session. I have had success with just putting it in airplane mode, but sometimes the extra incentive of wanting your phone back can help speed up your work.

Needs more work:

  • This goes for all my coursework, but getting to work faster. I need to find some sort of way to get into “work-mode” faster. There is too much time wastage at the beginning of each writing session.

 

Results from weeks 2 & 3: Finished my English Literature essay, started one of my four geology essays.

Goals for weeks 4 & 5: Finish all four geology essays. (This is a huge goal, and I’m happy if I finish three of them in that timespan as well)

Setbacks and Successes – Week 2 & 3 of the X-Effect

Leave a Reply

